Historic Ghent (Belgium)
Balloon Flight From Château d’Enghien (Drone)
Château de Noisy
Château Miranda (English: Miranda Castle), also known as Château de Noisy (English: Noisy Castle) was a 19th-century neo-Gothic castle in Celles, province of Namur, Belgium, in the region of the Ardennes.
The Château was built in 1866 by the English architect Edward Milner under commission from the Liedekerke-De Beaufort family, who had left their previous home, Vêves Castle, during the French Revolution. However, Milner died before the Château was finished. Construction was completed in 1907 after the clock tower was erected.
Their descendants remained in occupation until World War II. A portion of the Battle of the Bulge took place on the property, and it was during that time that the Château was occupied by German forces.
In 1950, Château Miranda was renamed “Château de Noisy” when it was taken over by the National Railway Company of Belgium (NMBS/SNCB) as an orphanage and also a holiday camp for sickly children. It lasted as a children’s camp until the late 1970s.
The Château stood empty and abandoned since 1991 because the costs to
maintain it were too great, and a search for investors in the property
failed. Although the municipality of Celles
had offered to take it over, the family refused, and the enormous
building lingered in a derelict state, succumbing to decay and
vandalism. Parts of the structure were heavily damaged in a fire and
many areas of the ceiling were beginning to collapse. Despite this, it
become a favorite venue of urban explorers.
October 2017… the château was completely demolished.
Sadly, this is all that remains…